and now for something completely different

boy I hope Monty Python doesn’t sue me for that one 😛

So while I take a quick break from the Chevron and the chunks n’ chains necklace, I thought I would do a little wire crochet.  I have some really pretty light pink fresh water pearls (fwp) and some gold 28 guage wire.  So I picked up some clear AB chinese crystals yesterday and started what I thought was going to be a bracelet. That is until i realized the peices I made were too long. 

The process for wire crochet is really fun, you string all your beads onto your wire, then you just crochet a simple chain stitch, in the desired length.  This means that I had 3 pieces of chain stitch that I planned to braid into a cuff.  What I have instead is the front section of a collar.  Still, I am quite please with it so far.  I think I will just do a strand of more of the pink pearls to finish it.  Today my friend Meghan is coming over for tea, beading and home made scones.   I think I will continue, chunks n’ chains.

Here’s what I have so far with the wire crochet, and for a treat a fancy little confection set of both crochet and chain maille that I made for the holidays!

The pearls and crystals that fan out from the braid are actually wired on seperately.

That’s all for now folks, but stay tuned for the completion of the chevron necklace and chunks n’ chain coming soon.

5 thoughts on “and now for something completely different

  1. Sarah I really love the pearls and crystals,it is beautiful,very bridal!!!!Your work always is pleasing to my eye.Love Aunt M

    • hehehehehe, Julie, I will crochet with anything that only requires a single chain stitch. Where I run into problems is the attempt to do rows and make things like rectangles that somehow become triangles or mysteriously double in width…

Leave a Reply

