A working lunch

So most people sit and chat while they have lunch in the office cafeteria, some read a book, some do a crossword, or in my office, watch soap operas on the big screen.  

Not me!  oh no no no.  I bead…well, more specifically, I make chain maille!  Yesterday I started working on a stainless steel (or aluminum…ok not sure what it is) 6-1 bracelet 4 rings wide.  Today I switched it up, I ate my ham n’ cheese and then started AND finished a simple wedding knot bracelet in black nickel and silver.  I did also carry on some pleasant conversation with coworkers.  

I don’t know what it is about chain maille that I love so much, sometimes I find it zen and easy and sometimes I want to chuck my pliers and all my jump rings across the room in rage, but I keep coming back for more.  I can’t help it.  I love the way it looks, I love the feel of metal on my skin, I love the fact that it can look amazingly intricate and yet be simple, or look simple and be very difficult to construct.   I love that the variations are endless, whether you combine colours, or include beads in your designs, you can use a totally standard pattern and make something totally unique.  

In a fit of nostalgia, here are a few of my very first chain maille pieces and my all time favourite bracelet!

Byzantine

Image

Queen’s or Box Chain

Image

and here is my all time, favourite, wear it everyday Celtic wedding-knot cuff!

Image

Well, back to my crochet, really want to finish it before I start something else. 

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “A working lunch

Leave a Reply

