2 heads are often better than one!

It has been too long since my friend Meghan came over for a tea and beading date.  Finally today we were able to do so and it’s a good thing too, because she was able to help me with a little problem I was having.

I posted a week or so ago about the antique brass bracelet that I couldn’t finish because I had run out of brass rings.  Well, not only did Meghan help me find a way to make it work, by adding more cloisonne beads, but it looks way better!

Now I have the two red cloisonne beads, but have added this fabulous White Cloisonne donut to the centre, and if you use two head pins instead of an eye pin to go through the donut, you can keep it empty in the centre without seeing the pin!   I really like the effect!

I also started a new 6-1 necklace, but I didn’t take any pictures, because I didn’t get enough of it finished for it to look like anything just yet.

I did finish 2 pairs of earrings and then get 3/4’s of another necklace done before running out of those rings (I intend to pick some up this week!).

I had fallen in love with these matte turquoise coloured fire polished glass beads and decided they would look stunning with black nickel….and they do 😉

I also found an excellent way to use these fantastic bright orange oval drops as earrings!

I mean, is there anything you can’t do with a 12 in 2 pattern?  I think not 😛

The last thing I have to share with you all today is a piece that is not quite finished, but should be by the end of the week.  I don’t remember how I came up with the idea of putting this one lampwork style bead inside two copper rings of different sizes to make a gyroscope like pendant, but it worked out quite well.

The chain is also based loosly on the 12 in 2, however, because it is just two lines it is really just 8 in 2.  In this case, 8 in 1, because using copper 6mm rings meant I could only get 1 in to the 4mm rings, not 2.

 

The other great thing about beading with a friend is that not only can you share ideas, and techniques (and in our case, baked good, tea, and pretzel M&M’s), you can also share beads!…or findings, clasps, rings…whatever you have run out of that your friend has.  Thankfully, Meghan was able to give me a couple of lobster claws that I was needing, some 9mm rings in black nickel and I was able to give her some howlite chips for some orange beads she had, and a matching nugget for a pendant!

So two heads are really better than one, and two beading stashes too!

One thought on “2 heads are often better than one!

  1. Okay, I absolutely love that last one. That’s awesome. The others are good too, don’t get me wrong, but I love the gyroscope look.

Leave a Reply

