Fumbling Towards Entropy

Why is it, that my craft room can never stay completely tidy or organized?  I swear things move around and displace themselves when I am not watching.

So after a fabulous week at the cottage, I spent the last couple of days doing a little organization of my beading workspace.  The reason it takes a couple of days is of course I tend to get sidetracked very easily.

I had gone down Thursday evening around 5pm, to start tidying and didn’t surface until 8pm having done little to no tidying but I did make this…

Picture 529

Picture 530

I love working with wire, but I would not say I am all that good at it.  Braiding 12 gauge aluminum wire is hard on the hands, I like the effect though.

So yesterday and today I did actually get things sorted out, at least the beading part, the sewing section is still a disaster.  I also took another crack at making a wire bracelet, this time I used a bench vise to steady the three wires while I braided them.

Picture 527 Picture 528The biggest challenge is getting the wire to harden enough to make a solid bracelet, as well as shaping it to fit.  I had dreams of also weaving thinner wire with beads on it through one of the cuffs, but I didn’t like it.

One of the other reasons I like to organize and re-organize my beading stash occasionally is that I get inspired and re-discover old items.

Today was no exception, I came across a purple teardrop bead that I had made into a pendant with freshwater pearls previously and turned it into this…

Picture 532

I also took some metal beads I had combined ages ago with a bunch of chain and recombined them with freshwater pearls and brown glass pearls.

Picture 531

What will I discover next time?

One thought on “Fumbling Towards Entropy

Leave a Reply

