You think I would have learned by now…

Remember the post I did some time ago about how important gauge is when dealing with wire or jump rings?  Well, as Alice once said when she was lost in Wonderland, “I give myself some very good advice, but I seldom ever follow it”.

I really wanted to do this Romanov design chain maille and I also wanted to try this pattern for a chain maille ball that I saw Pinterest.  I have jump rings of various sizes in my stash and started with my usual go-to rings for most chain maille designs. 6 and 7mm outside diameter, I believe they are 19 or 20 gauge.  Well…

oops

The 7mm rings gave me the blob you see on the right which is supposed to be the first half of the Japanese Ball pattern (just google Japanese Chain maille Ball Pattern), there is obviously too much space between the rings so there is no firmness in the structure.

On the left is what I ended up with from my attempt at the Romaov pattern (also googleable), which didn’t work with either the 6 or the 7mm rings, or any beads that I had…dang it.

So, I gave up on the Romanov, but with the 6mm rings in the heavier gauge, the ball pattern actually worked out.

chainmaille ball

I also made another chain maille piece with some shell disks (I made a similar style before) and a shell pendant my friend Meghan had given me.  Sections of Byzantine in 7mm Silver plate separated by Shell disks and 6mm clear cut-glass beads.

chain and shell

And another pair of Belly Dance inspired chandelier earrings.

chandelier in green and pearl

You know…wine glasses make good earrings props for taking photos.

 

3 thoughts on “You think I would have learned by now…

  1. Love, love, love! All of them! But esp. “the blob”, would look great as a stud earring if small enough. One day when I’m rich I’ll commission you to make me stuff. Until then I’ll be dreaming!

Leave a Reply

