I Just Can’t Get Enough!

Of my new aluminum jump rings that is!  Since last we chatted, I have made another chain maille ball, some earrings and have experimented with a couple of new weaves.  Also incorporating some of my usual plated base metal rings and beads.

lPicture 598

You can’t go wrong with byzantine!

Picture 554 Picture 542

I love this lace like weave I found in a magazine!Picture 568

The chain maille ball is a current favourite!

Picture 573

The great thing about the aluminum is that you can make a dense weave like full Persian and it is still super light to wear.

Picture 599Something simple to show off the bright green rings and the delicate leaf beads.

1235520_10151901653726217_99163204_n (1)Picture 587

This weave makes great earrings as well as bracelets, but it can be frustrating to assemble at times.
Picture 603

I do love the rosette look and you can’t go wrong with adding crystal to pretty much anything as in the case of the barrel weave with 6mm sapphire bicones below which makes for a rather glamorous necklace.

Image
As you can see, I have been very productive in the last couple of weeks.  Thursday, my friend Meghan came over for an evening of pizza and beading.  We both decided that it was a chain maille kind of event.  I still have a fair amount of the colourful anodized aluminum jump rings that I got from the Ring Lord and so I made another chain maille ball, this time in black and red.

Image

Now that I have a comfortable grasp  of the pattern itself, I can now play with the colour schemes some more.

I also made a few other items that night and last night as well. There was a new chain maille weave I was itching to try out called Inverted Round, I got the pattern from CGMaille.com.

Picture 619

The first one is a mix of bright aluminum and a regular aluminum with a section of black worked in.

Picture 620

I also had a lot of red, green and gold, so I thought, hey, something for the festive season.

The next pattern from CGMaille.com that I want to try is the Dragon Scale and the inverted Round with Captive Rings.

I also have taken a liking to making rosettes from rings, some with just three, like this cutey cute bracelet in pink, purple and lavender.

Picture 614

And some with with many rings to make a dense almost ball like rosette.

Picture 615

I also used one of my favourite patterns, the size 2 seed bead and 9mm jump ring, to make this fun rainbow bracelet!

Picture 616

Yesterday I put another order in to the Ring Lord for more aluminum jump rings in rainbow colours which I cannot wait to get working with!

Till next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

