Yesterday’s Show at the Trend-Arlington Community Centre

What an absolutely great day!   It was a really positive experience start to finish.

Friday night was a late night of course with all of the last-minute prep work that had to be done.   Throughout the week I had been making new earrings (all chain maille of course) and printing up my signs and anxiously awaiting my shipment of Swarovski to arrive from Fire Mountain Gems (which it did, on Thursday, thank you Fire Mountain Gems, excellent people).  So my earring case was packed up and all my items tagged and ready, and my excellent husband added all the hooks to the display cubes and packed up the car.  I chose a large hardcover copy of the Poetry of Robert Frost to help display my bookmark collection.  One little hitch, as I was cutting and framing my Family Pendants sign, I realized that I spelled crystals wrong in one place…crustals…oh good grief.  I wasn’t about to re-print the sign as it was getting late, or as Dick Van Patten said in Spaceballs “It’s too late, keep going”.  So I fixed it with a pen and carried on.  The idea for the family pendants is to create a little pendant of Swarovski rounds by birthstone colour on a head-pin with a bail, custom-made while you wait.

Image

While I didn’t sell any yesterday, People were certainly interested in them and thought them a good idea.  I will have to add them to Etsy!

My alarm went off at 6 (so early), and I hopped (ok, crawled) out of bed and got ready to go.  This included of course, the usual shower, and tooth brushing, standard stuff, but also trying on several outfits and trying to choose just the right jewellery for the day.  That was hard.  I settled on all black with silver shoes and my big sapphire crystal earrings that I made for the wedding I went to in Halifax back in September.

IMG_0289

These made it half-way through the day before my ear lobes began to protest.

So, we pile into the car for the 2 minute drive to the Trend Arlington Community Building, arriving at 6:58.  We were the first ones there.  The organizer arrived at 7 and opened the doors.  She and her daughter were a pleasure to work with and so helpful.  She even supplied the coffee.  My hubby helped me carry everything in (one trip) and then popped over to Tim’s to get breakfast.

So I began to set up, and it went really smoothly, I kept everything fairly simple.  So by 8 am, my table was ready to go.  The doors opened at 9, so I had some time to kick back, drink my coffee and make more chain maille.  I sent my hubby home to go back to bed and settled in.

WM table

I am quite pleased with how the table looked and even though the room was well-lit including windows letting in the lovely bright sun, I thought the little battery tea lights were a fun addition.   My big silver Eiffel Tower was a bridal shower gift from my Dad and Step-mum who threw me an awesome Paris themed shower.  The “s” hooks fit in perfectly and hold lots of my beaded necklaces.

The doors opened at 9 and folks started to wander in.  It was fairly steady all day and I didn’t leave my table more than a few times.  My first sale was a silver bookmark with little crystal dangles, and things just got better from there on in.  Everyone I met was so nice from the volunteers who ran the show to the other vendors to the folks from the community who came in to shop.

My good friend Lian from ReeseSpeaks came in with her daughter around lunch time and hung out with me until 3, she kindly watched the booth while I did a little shopping for myself.

At 3 when the doors closed, my hubby arrived, we took down my table, and loaded up the car.

All in all a fantastic day.  I made lots of sales and met some wonderful people.  I think the show was very well-organized with a great variety of vendors, all of us offering something a little different.  There were other jewellery vendors, but they were all different.  I will certainly be at this show again next year!

Leave a Reply

