The Great Craft Room Renovation – Part I

So as you can see lately, I haven’t been making a lot of jewelry.  Mostly I have been doing a lot of crocheting and knitting, probably because it is just too cold out to want to do much else than cuddle up with lots of yarn!

Then one day about 2 weeks ago, I was thinking about my yarn stash and how utterly unorganized it is, all crammed into a large plastic bin.  So I was poking around Pinterest to see what inspiration I could find for yarn storage,  and as I did so, I started to think about the craft room as a whole.  I love my craft room, but it isn’t exactly decorated in the nicest manner.  The walls are a very strong, almost Smurf blue, and the vinyl flooring is dirty and peeling in places.  The closet is full of clunky particle board shelving.  The more I thought about it, the more I thought that maybe it was time to overhaul the entire room.  Time to patch the holes, paint the walls and redo the closet.  So began my research, I have been scouring Pinterest, Ikea, Canadian Tire for ideas and products, and last week I started cleaning out the craft room.

Craft Room 0

Oh my gosh, I don’t know how I managed to accumulate so much stuff!

It took about 3 nights to get to this stage.

Craft Room 1

And most of Saturday  to get to this stage!

Craft Room 2

Getting the closet apart was a challenge, especially when a heavy shelf fell on my head, then hit me in the arm and squished my thumb.  My head and thumb have recovered, but the arm is still bruised!  The thing that hurt a lot more than the shelf incident was opening up the bins of my childhood stuffed animals to find that they were all covered in mold.  When we first moved in I washed them and I thought they were dry, but I guess not, and now two years later everything was just covered in mold.  I know that they are just stuffed toys, inanimate objects, but it felt like a loss.  I managed to salvage a few of them, and my hubby came to the rescue again, he bagged up everything else so I wouldn’t have to do it.  Thankfully, one of the ones I was able to save was Miss Mousie.  She has been with me since I was a year old, I even forgot her on a bus in Florida, and the driver actually drove back to the airport with her for me!  I would have grieved to lose her completely.  Silly as it sounds I am still sad to lose so many of the others.

Sunday my hubby helped me remove the rest of the closet shelves and patch the cracks and holes in the walls.

Craft Room 3

The next stage is to fix up a few more patches, then the walls will be sanded, cleaned and painted.  I am going to stick with a nice clean white, simple and bright.  After that, the floors!

Till next time!

2 thoughts on “The Great Craft Room Renovation – Part I

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your childhood friends. I know how you feel about loosing some of them. I am very happy about the progress you have made so far in your craft room, though. Have you decided on a colour for the walls yet?

Leave a Reply

