The Great Craft Room Renovation – Part III

Hello again!   Well as anyone who follows my twitter feed will no doubt already be aware, we have made great strides in the renovation over the last week and especially this past weekend.

We left off last time having finished the first coat of primer.  Well, I won’t kid you, this took 3, THREE, coats of primer to cover all of the blue!   Here it was after two coats.

Craft Room 5  You would be amazed at just how much of the blue was still visible at this point.

Friday evening I completed the 3rd and final coat of primer as well as the first coat of primer on the baseboard.  Saturday I did the first coat of paint on the walls.  I decided to go with Decorators White, for two reasons.  1) it’s a nice clean, but warm white. 2) we already had a gallon and a bit left over from the hallway and I only needed to buy 1 more gallon.

Sunday morning, with the help of my DH I completed the 2nd and final coat of paint on the walls and the baseboard.  Now it was time for the floor!

I knew going in that this would be the most taxing part of the renovation, especially for my DH.  I was not wrong!

Craft Room 6

The first step was vacuuming the floor and scraping off any blobs of paint or drywall compound.  Next, we had to put down the underlayment.  This came in large sheets folded accordion style, which were rather cumbersome, albeit delicate.  So we decided to do half the floor at a time, since you mustn’t walk on the underlayment until you get the floor boards down.  Laminate flooring is supposed to be quick and easy, what a crock!  It’s a pain in the butt folks, you snap one section together and the other side comes out again, you fix the other side and the side you just snapped in comes apart.  My poor DH!

It took from 12:30 – 3 to get to the half-way point, despite my DH’s overall handiness!

Craft Room 7

So here we broke for a late lunch.

It took another couple of hours to finish the job which required some creative sawing on my DH’s part.  But we did it!

Craft Room 8

And as much as laminate flooring is a pain, it looks great!  I love the rough cottage look to the this flooring.

So the only construction tasks left to do are putting the baseboard back, adding some quarter round, touching up the paint and adding a clothes rail in the closet.  Then comes the trip to IKEA!

Leave a Reply

