and sew forth!

Well my faithful readers, I have settled in nicely to my new and improved craft room, and I have been fairly busy!

The first project in the new room was my first ever fascinator.

fascinating

I made it by hot gluing satin to cardboard and adding rhinestones and filigree metal pieces.  It’s pretty cute, but I think it would go best with a messy up-do, it’s a bit big.

Next were some feathered hair combs for a friend of mine who was going to a charity gala. She also borrowed a necklace from my inventory and I made her a pair of earrings to match and for her to keep.I have never made anything like this before, and I have very little experience with feathers…the get EVERYWHERE!

feathers!

I had a few false starts and burned myself more than once with the hot glue gun, but in the end, I am pretty happy with the results.

hair combs

I like the one on the bottom the best, I think the less symmetrical look is more appealing, and that is the one I gave to my friend to wear.  I used small pieces of black satin and flat back crystals.  I used hot glue for the feathers and satin and epoxy for the crystals.

Then I broke out the shop-vac, and removed the excess plumage from my work area, and my clothes, and waited for the rest of them to finally descend to the ground so I could vacuum them up too.

Other than feathers and sparkly bits, I have been back to my chainmailling ways!

I made a bunch of rainbow  byzantine bracelets.

rainbows

I love these, I made them with different, types of attaching chains, a simple 2-2 chain, byzantine and box chain, and a 2-2 in black nickel as well.

I also finally got to use some great pastel jump rings I got from the Ring Lord months ago, before the great reno began.

pink box chain

Pastel Pink anodized aluminum in a light box chain.

blueblackbyzantine

 

and the pastel blue anodized aluminum and black nickel in a byzantine pattern with three rings in each section instead of two.

But now on to the even more exciting goings on in the World of Wearable Miscellany.  I have started sewing classes at a local high school!

Now, I grew up around sewing.  My mom has been making my clothes since I was a baby.  There were many nights I fell asleep listening to the soothing sounds of her Janome purring away in the room down the hall.  So many times I have stepped on dropped pins and needles and had to pull them out of my poor little kid foot!  Sadly, like knitting and crochet, sewing was not something I have been adept at since I was a child.  In the case of knitting, both my poor grandmothers attempted to teach me many times throughout my childhood.  However, it wasn’t until my 20’s when my sister-in-law attempted my instruction that it finally stuck.

So even though I have spent my entire life around sewing,  I have only ever a few times actually constructed anything myself, Usually gift bags and pillow cases.  When I expressed some desire to learn to sew a number of years back.  My mother gave me her vintage Singer machine, and I mean VINTAGE.  This puppy was built during the 1950’s.  And after a few electrical adjustments, it runs really well.   It isn’t the type built into a table, but was one of the early “portable” models.  It comes with a handy case that you can carry it around in, although since I think it is either steel or cast iron, it weighs a ton!  It doesn’t a lot of fancy stitches or anything, just forwards and backwards, but for most of my sewing up until now, this has been more than sufficient.

This past Easter holiday, we were visiting with my family in the GTA, and my mum and I went off to the local fabric land, Simplicity patterns were on sale and I needed some proper fabric scissors.  As we discussed the various attributes of our sewing machines, she suggested that I might need something more advanced than the Singer, something that could do things like button holes and overcasting.  Then she gave me her recently retired Janome, the very same Jenome that had been lulling me to sleep since the mid 1980’s!  It’s was retired mid-way through my wedding dress when it developed a problem with its onboard computer.  It still runs just fine though and I am delighted to have it!   There is a lot of family history in both of these machines!

Sew, I showed up to my first sewing class last week, we went over what we will be doing in the course, taking measurements, and learning about the different tools of the trade.   Great teacher, very knowledgeable, and pleasant.

Yesterday evening was class #2 and we all started to cut out our patterns and fabric, ready to start sewing next week.  I chose a Simplicity pattern, and a lovely cotton fabric for a summer dress.   Thankfully, for a first kick at the can, this pattern only had 4 pieces!   YES!

and sew forth

It still took a little fancy maneuvering to get the pattern pieces all on right, because all 4 pieces needed to be cut on the fold.  Thankfully I had plenty of fabric to work with.  Now

Now, before next week, I have to pick up some 1/2″ wide single fold bias tape and then we get sewing!

Till Next Time!

One thought on “and sew forth!

  1. Loved the hair pin you made (and you graciously let me use for my event)! I got many comolements on it! Congrats on making it through your 1st 2 sewing classes! I’m so priud of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

