A Productive Weekend

It was the first weekend in a while that my DH and I didn’t have a lot of plans, so we got to devote our time to our various crafty pursuits.  For me of  course it meant spending every possible moment in my craft room.

When I got home from work on Friday I set to work on some seriously cute stuff for my niece Charlotte.

From http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m6947-products-48426.php?page_id=487

M6947  I made View A, the shorter top and view G, the leggings.  Both in the same hot pink knit that I made that tank top out of for me.  My machine does NOT like that fabric!  My thread broke continually throughout the project, but I did finish it in the end.  I added three little white flower buttons on the top for decoration.

Charlotte outfit

I didn’t know this place even existed, but on Saturday after we popped in to visit my father-in-law so my DH could use his table saw, my DH took me to this place called Rockland Textiles.  They carried every shade of Gütermann thread available so I was able to get the green and red I need for my skirt and pants projects.  I also found a bunch of fun quilting fabric to make aprons for my next craft show.  We also found fabric for me to use for my DH’s multimeter case.

So I texted my mom to say, “did you know about this place?”  Not only did she know about it, apparently while we lived in Ottawa she used to work there on Saturdays and most of the fabric that made up my early childhood clothing came from there!  Who knew?

But I digress.

I also made my niece Top A from http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m6022-products-10720.php?page_id=487

M6022

I used an adorable printed knit that is blue with white flowers with hot pink middles. It goes with the hot pink leggings perfectly.  It was a more challenging pattern than I have done before, but I really like how it came out!

Charlotte blouse 1

When we were at my Sister-in-laws house yesterday for a Father’s Day BBQ, I tried everything on Charlotte.  The hot pink tunic is a bit big, but she can grow into it.  The leggings fit quite nicely.  The blue top unfortunately is to big in the shoulders so it hangs down too low.  I thought I could just take it in at the shoulders, but then it would be difficult to get it onto her.  So I gave it a lot of thought throughout the evening, and I figured out what I will do.  I will unpick the shoulder seams, and refinish them open, then put a button-hole on the front side, and next time I see my niece I will add the buttons to the back so that  it is easy for her mum to get it on and off and it still fits properly.

Now, don’t think I ignored my own needs during all this.

My Aunt also gave me some great Hawaiian print of green leaves and pink flowers, that I think had been either a skirt or curtains or something in a previous life.  At any rate, the fabric is lovely and soft, so I thought I would use it to make http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m6927-products-48273.php?page_id=101, which my mum had helped me to adjust for my fit when she was visiting last.  It is a great pattern!  It is super easy to adjust to the size you want, and includes different pattern pieces for different cup sizes, so that the darts are the right fit.  The pattern only goes to a 24, but I added an inch on each side from the waist to the hips to make a 28, I cut a 20 in the neck, a 22 in the shoulders and armholes, but moved from a 22 at the top of the armhole to a 24 at the bottom.

And it fits perfectly!

Hawaiian top I will absolutely be using this pattern again.  I love the way it is finished too.  The back is closed with a button and thread loop.  Fortunately I had a button that worked in my collection, but I had to look up how to make a thread loop on YouTube.  It’s fiddly.

So I decided to wear it on Sunday for the BBQ, and because it’s me, I decided that I needed a pair of earrings to match.

hawaiian earrings

 

So tonight I will tackle the top for my niece and finish cutting out http://butterick.mccall.com/b3460-products-3524.php?page_id=367

B3460

 

2 thoughts on “A Productive Weekend

Leave a Reply

